Secondary Curriculum and Instruction Services

Mathematics Curriculum – High School

The Common Core State Standards for mathematics define what students should understand and be able to do in their study of mathematics. For more than a decade, educators and researchers have understood the need for a more focused, more rigorous mathematics curriculum in U.S. public school systems in order to produce a generation of globally competitive individuals. To address that need, the Common Core State Standards for Mathematics were developed. These standards are internationally benchmarked and are based on a philosophy of teaching and learning mathematics that is consistent with the most current research, exemplary practices, and national standards.Coupled with the mathematics curriculum are the eight Standards for Mathematical Practice. These standards describe ways in which students should engage with the subject matter as they grow in mathematical maturity and expertise throughout the elementary, middle, and high school years. An in-depth explanation of the standards can be accessed by clicking the following link: Standards for Mathematical Practice

The K-5 standards provide students with a solid foundation in whole numbers, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, fractions, and decimals. The standards stress not only procedural skill but also conceptual understanding to make sure that students are learning and absorbing the critical information they need to succeed at higher levels. The middle school standards provide a bridge from the elementary level to the high school level. The high school standards prepare students to think and reason mathematically, and they set a rigorous definition of college and career readiness. The high school standards emphasize mathematical modeling and the use of mathematics and statistics to analyze empirical situations, understand them better, and improve decisions.The Common Core State Standards for High School Mathematics are as follows:


Math I, Math II, and Math III are a sequence of courses that build upon the foundation established in the elementary and middle school. These courses develop mathematics across multiple categories, continue to promote diverse mathematical insights, and nurture differing strengths and talents. The justification for transitioning to Math I, Math II, and Math III is that research shows that students learn through progressions. They acquire new knowledge by building upon previously learned concepts, while gaining greater depth and complexity at each level. In elementary and middle school, students learn mathematics through progressive inter-connected mathematical ideas, and Math I, Math II, and Math III continue this cohesive approach throughout a student’s high school career. This approach to K-12 mathematics instruction better prepares students to be college and career ready upon graduation.

The Math I curriculum can be accessed by clicking the following link:
Math I Curriculum
Math I provides students the opportunity to study concepts of algebra, geometry, functions, number and operations, statistics, and modeling throughout the course. These concepts include expressions in the real number system, creating and reasoning with equations and inequalities, interpreting and building simple functions, expressing geometric properties, and interpreting categorical and quantitative data.

The Math II curriculum can be accessed by clicking the following link:
Math II Curriculum
Math II continues a progression of the standards established in Math I. In addition to these standards, Math II includes polynomials, congruence and similarity of figures, trigonometry with triangles, modeling with geometry, probability, making inferences, and justifying conclusions.

The Math III curriculum can be accessed by clicking the following link:

Math III Curriculum
Math III progresses from the standards learned in Math I and Math II. In addition to these standards, Math III extends to include algebraic concepts such as the complex number system, inverse functions, trigonometric functions, and the unit circle. Math III also includes the geometric concepts of conics and circles.

Major Work of the Grade for Mathematics
Content Emphases by Cluster describes content emphases in the standards at the cluster level for each grade or course. These are provided because curriculum, instruction, and assessment at each grade must reflect the focus and emphasis of the standards. Not all of the content in a given grade or course is emphasized equally in the standards. Some clusters require greater emphasis than others based on the depth of the ideas, the time they take to master, and/or their importance to future mathematics or the demands of college and career readiness. An intense focus on the most critical material at each grade allows depth in learning, which is carried out through the Standards for Mathematical Practice. Assessments will be designed with a much greater proportion drawn from clusters designated as major and the remainder drawn from clusters designated as additional/supporting, with these items placing emphasis on the major work of the grade. To access documents for each grade level, click on the desired links below.

Math I
Math II
Math III
Algebra II

Published by Valerie Robinson on January 22, 2020

Cumberland County Schools
2465 Gillespie Street • Fayetteville, NC 28306

© 2019 Cumberland County Schools
Send questions or comments to

CCS Web Manager

Website Accessibility
I Accesibilidad a las Pбginas Web
| Copyright/Privacy Notices and Disclaimers | Derecho de Propiedad Literaria/Avisos Privados y Renuncias | Non-Discrimination Policy and Grievances